Gujrat Lions Beat CSK by 35 Runs

After the blazing centuries of Shubman Gill and Sai Sudarshan, Gujarat Titans defeated Chennai Super Kings by 35 runs on the basis of the havoc bowling of Mohit Sharma. With this, Shubman Gill’s team has kept its hopes of reaching the playoffs in IPL 2024 intact at least till the next match. Due to this defeat, there have been obstacles in the way of playoffs for Chennai Super Kings. Now even one defeat can take them out of the playoffs. This is Chennai’s sixth defeat in 12 matches but it is still in fourth place.

GT beat CSK

In this match played in Ahmedabad, Gujarat batted first and scored a tremendous score of 231 runs. After this, Gujarat put Chennai on the back foot by taking 3 wickets in the powerplay, from which the team could never recover and could score 196 runs in 20 overs. With this victory, Gujarat moved to eighth place in the points table with 10 points. At the same time, Chennai’s defeat has also kept the hopes of Delhi, Lucknow and Bengaluru alive.

Tremendous attack by Sudarshan-Shubman

Earlier, it was necessary for Gujarat, which was at the last position in the points table after losing 3 consecutive matches, to win this match at any cost. With this hope, the opening pair of captain Shubhman Gill (104) and Sai Sudarshan (103) attacked as soon as they arrived. Sudarshan completed his half-century in 32 balls and Gill completed his half-century in 25 balls. Both continued to rain even after this and completed their respective centuries in the 17th over. First, Shubman Gill completed his century in 50 balls, which is his first this season and his fourth in IPL. This was also the 100th century in IPL history.

CSK disintegrated in power play itself

In response to such a big score, Chennai needed a fast start but exactly the opposite happened. The team lost 3 wickets for just 10 runs in the first 3 overs. Rachin Ravindra, who returned to the playing eleven, was run out in the first over and the poor form of veteran batsman Ajinkya Rahane also continued, while captain Ruturaj could not open his account this time. Sandeep Warrier and Umesh Yadav took the wickets of both of them. After this, Daryl Mitchell and Moeen Ali attacked in a tremendous manner.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.